British High Commission New Delhi

Shantipath, Chanakyapuri
New Delhi 110021

Office hours

Monday-Friday: 0900-1700 hrs

Monday-Friday: 0900-1500 hrs (Consular phone enquiries)

Monday-Friday: 0930-1230 hrs (Consular counter hours)

VFS in Delhi

Public holidays

Our offices will be closed for the following public holidays in 2016:

Date Event
Friday 1 January New Year’s Day
Tuesday 26 January Republic Day
Thursday 24 March Holi
Friday 25 March Good Friday
Monday 28 March Easter Monday
Friday 6 May Queen’s Birthday Privilege Holiday
Wednesday 6 July Idul Fitr
Monday 15 August Independence Day
Thursday 18 August Raksha Bandhan
Tuesday 11 October Dussehra
Monday 31 October Diwali Privilege Holiday
Monday 14 November Gurunanak’s Birthday
Monday 26 December Boxing day
Tuesday 27 December Christmas Privilege Holiday

Holidays that fall on Saturdays & Sundays have been excluded from this list.

Security regulations for visitors

No Weapons Policy:

The British High Commission, New Delhi has a strict ‘No Weapons Policy’.

No weapons will be allowed onto the compound and there are no facilities to store such weapons. Any person attempting to bring a weapon onto the compound will be required to leave immediately.

Personal Items:

The British High Commission does not have the facility to screen or hold large bags, rucksacks etc. Customers may bring in a bag no larger than a briefcase or ladies handbag, but should be aware that this will be subject to a search by a suitably qualified guard.

Photography & Filming:

If you intend to film or photograph the British High Commission, please contact the main switchboard on +91 11 2419 2100 and ask to speak with the Press & Communications Group.


There are no public parking facilities at the British High Commission. Persons visiting the Visa or Consular offices are advised to seek alternative parking.