British High Commission Bandar Seri Begawan

2.01, 2nd Floor, Block D,
Kompleks Bangunan Yayasan Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah,
Jalan Pretty

Bandar Seri Begawan
PO Box 2197
Brunei

Opening hours:
Monday to Thursday, 8.00am to 4.30pm
Friday, 8.00am to 12.00pm

Disabled access

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office and the British High Commission in Brunei are keen to ensure that their buildings and services are fully accessible to disabled members of the public. Wherever possible we have made our buildings and services accessible. Sometimes however, this is not possible due to security or other restrictions. In these situations we will endeavour to provide a service or access to a building in an alternative way to ensure equality of access for disabled people. To assist disabled visitors, we have set out below details of disabled access at the embassy. We hope this information is helpful.

General Physical Access

If you anticipate requiring assistance, please telephone us in advance of your visit so that we can ensure that we are able to provide access for you (tel: 222 2231 and ask for the Security Manager).

  • Steps & Staircases: all steps and staircases (including fire exits) have at least one set of rails. The main steps have rails on both sides.

  • Lift: a lift is available for access to the British High Commission and British Council on the second floor.

  • Parking: a disabled parking spot is available by arrangement.

  • Floor coverings: floor coverings are safe and even.

  • Handrails: widely available.

  • Doors: if necessary, the security guards can assist in opening doors.

  • Lighting: adequate throughout.

  • Emergency/Evacuation: procedures are in place to assist disabled persons in the event of emergency/evacuation.

  • Telephones: accessible to wheelchair users.

Access for Visually Impaired Visitors

  • Signs: generally clear and easy to read. Floor designation inside the lift is in Braille.

  • Emergency/Evacuation: procedures are in place to assist disabled persons in such circumstances.

Access for Deaf/Hard of Hearing Visitors

  • Microphones: are installed in all Reception areas.

  • Emergency/Evacuation: procedures are in place to assist disabled persons in such circumstances.

Public holidays

The office will be closed on the following days in the calendar year for 2017:

  • Monday 2 January - In lieu of New Year’s Day on Sunday 1 January

  • Monday 30 January - In lieu of Chinese New Year on Saturday 28 January

  • Thursday 23 February - Brunei National Day

  • Friday 14 April - Good Friday (UK)

  • Monday 24 April - Isra’ Dan Mi’raj

  • Monday 29 May - First Day of Ramadhan / Spring Bank Holiday (UK)

  • Monday 12 June - Quran Revelation Day*

  • Monday 26 June - First Day of Hari Raya*

  • Tuesday 27 June - Second Day of Hari Raya*

  • Friday 1 September - Hari Raya Aidiladha

  • Friday 22 September - Islamic New Year

  • Friday 1 December - Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday

  • Monday 25 December - Christmas Day (UK)

  • Tuesday 26 December - Boxing Day (UK)

Holidays marked * are subject to change