European Parliament

There are 751 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs). Of those, 73 represent the UK.

Elections for the European Parliament take place every 5 years. The next election will be in May 2019.

The government has made it clear it intends to leave the EU before the date of European Parliament elections. If the UK is still in the EU on Thursday 23 May then polls will take place on that day in the UK.

You can find who your MEPs are on the European Parliament website.

The Electoral Commission website has more information about European Parliament elections.

If you’re an EU citizen living in the UK

If the UK takes part in European Parliament elections on 23 May and you’re a citizen of an EU country (other than the UK, Ireland, Malta and Cyprus) resident in the UK, you can either vote in the UK or in your home country.

If you want to vote in your home country

Contact electoral authorities in the EU country where you’re a citizen.

If you want to vote in the UK

You must:

  1. Register to vote by 7 May.

  2. Download and fill in the European Parliament voter registration form.

  3. Send the form to your local Electoral Registration Office by 7 May.

The process is different if you live in Northern Ireland.