Technical architect: skills they need

The skills and Civil Service competencies needed by technical architects in government.



This is the standardised cross-government guidance for the technical architect role.

There are 4 other role levels in technical architecture:

Find out about the other specialist roles in the Digital, Data and Technology Profession.

Published 23 March 2017
Last updated 15 May 2018 + show all updates
  1. Following a change in naming conventions, we have changed 'capabilities' to 'skills' and 'levels of mastery' to 'skill levels'.
  2. Version 2 of this guidance contains updated capabilities and some remapping of Civil Service competencies to the job role.
  3. First published.