British High Commission Port Louis

7th floor, Cascades Building
Edith Cavell Street, P.O. box 1063

Port Louis
Port Louis
Mauritius

Opening Hours

Monday to Thursday: 7:45 am to 3:45 pm
Friday: 7:45 am to 1:45 pm

Office access

List of public holidays 2017 during which the High Commission will be closed:

Public Holidays

Date Holiday
Monday 02 January New Year
Wednesday 01 February Abolition of Slavery
Thursday 09 February Thaipoosam Cavadee
Friday 24 February Maha Shivaratree
Friday 14 April Good Friday
Monday 17 April Easter Monday
Monday 01 May Labour Day
Monday 29 May Spring Bank Holiday
Monday 26 June Eid Ul Fitr
Thursday 19 October Divali
Wednesday 01 November All Saint’s Day
Thursday 02 November Arrival of Indentured Labourers
Monday 25 December Christmas
Tuesday 26 December Boxing Day

Disabled access and facilities

Disabled access to the High Commission

The British Government is keen to ensure that buildings and services are fully accessible to disabled members of the public. Wherever possible, we have made our buildings and services accessible. Sometimes however, this is not possible due to security or other restrictions. In Mauritius, the High Commission is located in a shared building, which is managed by a private company. To assist disabled visitors, we have set out below details of disabled access at the High Commission.

General physical access

  • Entrances: there are three steps at the entrance to the building.

  • The easiest access is from Edith Cavell Street where public parking is available.

  • Access to the High Commission is by lift to the seventh floor.

  • Toilet facilities for disabled persons are located on the ground floor of Les Cascades building.

  • Floor coverings, doorways, and handles are of standard design.

  • The entrance area is well lit.

  • Emergency/evacuation: evacuation is on foot by staircase. No specialist equipment is available. Staff will assist in case of need but evacuation from the 7th floor would be problematic for people with limited mobility.

Access for visually-impaired visitors

  • Essential signage is clear and easy to read.

  • Braille signage is not available.

  • Guide dogs are welcome.

Access for Deaf/hard of hearing visitors

  • There are no audio induction loops or textphones.

  • Unfortunately we have no sign language or lip-speaking facilities.

  • Hearing dogs are welcome.

Contact us

If you need to visit us or use our services and feel that they may be inaccessible to you, please contact us on 202 9400 and we will try to find an alternative way of providing access for you.