British High Commission Georgetown

44 Main Street
Georgetown
Guyana

About us

Visit our profile page for more about the work we do.

Opening hours

Due to security considerations, public access is by appointment only.

Telephone: 8.00am to 4.00pm Monday to Thursday, 8am to 1pm Friday (excluding public holidays)

Emergency consular assistance following the death, hospitalisation, arrest, or other serious incident involving a British national is available 24 hours by calling +592 226 5882

Visa enquiries

   Service not offered at this location

Check if you need a visa or send an enquiry to UK Visas and Immigration.

Passports

   Service not offered at this location

Find out how to apply for a British passport or send an enquiry to Her Majesty’s Passport Office.

Services available by appointment in Georgetown

Make an appointment on-line for the following services, or contact us by telephone for further help.

Disabled Access

Our offices are fully equipped with facilities for disabled visitors. If you need special assistance, please contact us before you arrange an appointment.

Press enquiries

Our press team answers media enquiries about the work of the UK government and the British High Commission in Georgetown. To contact the press team, please call +592 226 5882

UK Trade and Investment (UKTI)

UKTI helps companies succeed in the global economy. We also help overseas companies bring their high-quality investment to the UK’s dynamic economy, acknowledged as Europe’s best place from which to succeed in global business.

Public holidays in 2017

On the following public holidays, our office will be closed for normal business. Emergency consular assistance for British nationals is available by telephone.

DATE HOLIDAY
Monday, January 2 In lieu of New Year’s Day
Thursday, February 23 Republic Day
Monday, March 13 In lieu of Phagwah Day
Friday, April 14 Good Friday
Monday, April 17 Easter Monday
Monday, May 1 Labour Day
Friday, May 5 Arrival Day
Friday, May 26 Independence Day
Monday, July 3 Caricom Day
Tuesday, August 1 Emancipation
Friday, September 1 Eid-Ul-Adha*
Wednesday, October 18 Deepavali
Monday, December 25 Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 26 Boxing Day

Note: Holidays marked with an asterisk (*) are tentative dates only. The High Commission will be closed on the dates listed above.