

As at 31 March, £bn				
	2011	2012	2013	2014
Non-ringfenced				
reserves	14.3	16.5	19.4	21.4
Council Tax arrears	2.3	2.4	2.4	2.5
Surplus assets	2.2	2.2	2.5	2.4
Fraud	0.7	2.1	2.2	2.1
Total	19.5	23.2	26.5	28.5

• The fraud estimates are of a different nature to the other figures, as they relate to the amount lost in a given period. The figures for reserves, arrears and surplus assets relate to amounts built up over all past years.

- If councils' education and public health reserves are included, the 2014 total will be in excess of \pounds 30 billion

The latest figures reported to the Government by town halls show that by the end of the last financial year:

The ten councils with the most Council Tax and arrears were

Council	CT arrears £m
Birmingham	105.2

Liverpool	97.6
Manchester	57.0
Sheffield	39.6
Haringey	38.5
Croydon	35.4
Lewisham	34.9
Hackney	34.2
Newham	31.8
Lambeth	31.7

The ten councils with the greatest amount of non-ringfenced reserves were

Council	Non- ringfenced reserves 31 March 2014 £m
Greater London Authority	2927*
Hampshire	357
Essex	323
Birmingham	277
Lancashire	256
Derbyshire	248
West Sussex	233
Manchester	232
Greenwich	225
Hackney	200

* GLA reserves largely being held back for large transport schemes, such as Crossrail.

The ten councils with the most surplus assets on their books were

Council	Surplus assets £m
Manchester	166
Sheffield	125
Southwark	122
Leicester City UA	86
Doncaster	70
County Durham UA	62
Hertfordshire	56
Surrey	50
Gateshead	49
Thurrock UA	47

Take up of council tax freeze grant in 2015-16

241 authorities have signalled their intention to take part in the Government's 2015-16 council tax freeze initiative by freezing or reducing their council tax.

London

Barnet Brent City of London Croydon Ealing Enfield Greenwich Hackney Hammersmith & Fulham Haringey Hillingdon Hounslow Kensington & Chelsea Kingston-upon-Thames Lewisham Merton Newham Redbridge **Richmond-upon-Thames** Southwark **Tower Hamlets** Waltham Forest Wandsworth Westminster Greater London Authority

Metropolitan Districts

Bolton Bury Calderdale Dudley Knowsley Manchester North Tyneside Oldham Rochdale Salford Sandwell Solihull Stockport Sunderland Trafford Wigan Wirral

Unitary Authorities

Bath & North East Somerset Bedford Blackburn with Darwen Blackpool Bournemouth Bracknell Forest Central Bedfordshire Cheshire East Cheshire West and Chester East Riding of Yorkshire Hartlepool North Lincolnshire North Somerset Peterborough Poole Portsmouth Redcar & Cleveland Rutland Shropshire Slough South Gloucestershire Stoke-on-Trent Swindon Telford & Wrekin Thurrock Torbay West Berkshire Wiltshire Windsor & Maidenhead Wokingham York

Shire Districts

Adur Amber Valley Arun Ashfield Ashford Aylesbury Vale Babergh Barrow-in-Furness Basildon Basingstoke & Deane Bolsover Boston Braintree Breckland Brentwood Broadland Bromsgrove Broxbourne Broxtowe Cannock Chase Carlisle Castle Point Charnwood Chelmsford

Cheltenham Cherwell Chesterfield Chichester Chorley Colchester Corby Cotswold Craven Crawley Dartford **Derbyshire Dales** Dover East Cambridgeshire East Devon East Hampshire East Hertfordshire East Northamptonshire East Staffordshire Eastbourne Eastleigh Elmbridge **Epping Forest** Erewash Fareham Fenland Forest Heath Forest of Dean Fylde Gedling Gloucester Gosport Great Yarmouth Hambleton Harborough Harrogate Hart Havant Hertsmere High Peak Hinckley & Bosworth Horsham Huntingdonshire Hyndburn Kettering King's Lynn & West Norfolk Lewes Maldon Malvern Hills Mansfield Mendip Mid Devon Mid Sussex

New Forest Newark & Sherwood Newcastle-under-Lyme North Devon North Dorset North East Derbyshire North Norfolk North Warwickshire North West Leicestershire Northampton Oadby & Wigston Pendle **Ribble Valley** Richmondshire Rochford Rossendale Rother Rugby Rushcliffe Rushmoor Ryedale Scarborough Selby Shepway South Bucks South Derbyshire South Hams South Holland South Kesteven South Lakeland South Norfolk South Northamptonshire South Oxfordshire South Ribble South Somerset South Staffordshire St Albans St Edmundsbury Stafford Staffordshire Moorlands Stevenage Stratford-on-Avon Stroud Suffolk Coastal Swale Tandridge Taunton Deane Teignbridge Tendring Test Valley Tewkesbury Thanet Three Rivers Torridge

Uttlesford Vale of White Horse Warwick Watford Waveney Waverley Wealden Wellingborough Welwyn Hatfield West Lancashire West Lindsey West Oxfordshire Winchester Worcester Worthing Wycombe Wyre

Shire Counties

Essex Gloucestershire Hampshire Norfolk Somerset Suffolk West Sussex

Police Authorities

Cambridgeshire Police & Crime Commissioner & Chief Constable Dorset Police & Crime Commissioner & Chief Constable Gloucestershire Police & Crime Commissioner & Chief Constable Greater Manchester Police & Crime Commissioner & Chief Constable Hertfordshire Police & Crime Commissioner & Chief Constable Staffordshire Police & Crime Commissioner & Chief Constable

Fire Authorities

Berkshire Fire Authority Buckinghamshire Fire Authority Cambridgeshire Fire Authority Essex Fire Authority Greater Manchester Fire Hampshire Fire Authority Humberside Fire Authority