The government works to defend the UK against threats to our national security, and to defend the interests of the UK and our allies in the world.

Policies 16

  1. Falkland Islanders' right to self-determination

    Maintaining the security and sovereignty of the Falkland Islanders.

  2. Stability in the Western Balkans

    Securing peace and creating the conditions for EU membership in the Western Balkans

  3. Nuclear disarmament

    The UK is committed to the long-term goal of a world without nuclear weapons and zero tolerance of proliferation.

  4. International defence commitments

    The UK’s military and financial contributions to NATO, the EU and their operations - including NATO Response Force, International Security Assistance Force, and EU Common Security Defence Policy.

  5. Armed forces and Ministry of Defence reform

    We’re improving the way we use resources and simplifying our structure to support military operations and personnel better.

See all 16 policies

Detailed guides

  1. Intra-Community Transfer Directive 2009/43/EC

    EU legislation implemented in the Export Control Order 2008 concerning the transfer or export of military goods across the EU Read more

  2. Nuclear: emergency planning and atmospheric testing programme

    Information about the Nuclear Accident Response Organisation (NARO) and the UK atmospheric nuclear testing programme. Read more

  3. Joint Information Activities Group (JIAG)

    The JIAG provides specialist Information activities training, operational delivery capability and capacity building for defence, and other government departments. Read more

  4. The Military Court Service

    The MCS provides a criminal court service for the Royal Navy, Army and RAF in the Court Martial, Summary Appeal Court and Service Civilian Court. Read more

  5. Exporting in support of UK government defence contracts

    Goods in support of UK government defence contracts that require an export licence and use of the Open General Export Licence. Read more